It is essential for researchers that their scholarly publications gain high visibility. You can enhance the visibility and accessibility of your works through publication forums that are used extensively. Self-archiving of commercially published articles also increases visibility.
The impact can be assessed using, for example, the following:
Citation analyses depict how often a researcher’s articles have been cited in other articles. Sources: Web of Science, Scopus, and GoogleScholar. The citations to a publication within the system are calculated from the reference lists of publications included in the system. There are very few book chapters and still fewer books included in Web of Science or Scopus, which means that the citation counts created by those systems are smaller than in reality on the fields of science of the University of Lapiand. The coverage of Web of Science and Scopus within social, legal or human sciences is not very good, which also means underestimating citation counts. (Comparison of WoS, Scopus and GoogleScholar / Oulun yo)
Researcher’s H-index, Publish or Perish, Scopus and Web of Science. More information on h-index.
You may request your own citation analysis or H-index from the library: firstname.lastname@example.org
H-index based on Google Scholar (Publish or Perish) is not always accepted as valid because of problems in the reliability of the contents of Google Scholar. H-indexes based on Scopus and Web of Science are regarded as reliable but those systems aren't covering human and social sciences well, which means that the h-indexes for human and social scientists are low.
Web of Science tarjoaa pääsyn seuraaviin viitetietokantoihin: 1. Arts and Humanities Citation Index: viitetietokanta, johon indeksoidaan 1144 taide- ja humanistisen alan lehteä. 2. Science Citation Index Expanded™: viitetietokanta, johon indeksoidaan 5700 luonnontieteiden alan lehteä. 3. Social Sciences Citation Index: viitetietokanta, johon indeksoidaan 1725 yhteiskunta- ja humanististen tieteiden lehteä.4. Journal Citation Reports sisältää viittaustiedot yli 8500 lehdestä yli 60 maasta. Social Science Edition -osa sisältää tiedot noin 1500 humanistis-yhteiskuntatieteellisestä lehdestä. Science Edition -osa sisältää tietoa noin 5000 lehdestä luonnontieteen ja tekniikan alalta.
Monitieteellinen viietietokanta, joka kattaa n. 19 000 tieteellistä lehteä yli 5000 kustantajalta, n. 1800 open access lehteä, 4,6 miljoonaa konferenssijulkaisua, 400 ammattilehteä ja 300 kirjasarjaa. Scopuksessa on myös mm. hakumahdollisuus yli 24 miljoonasta patentista.
Publish or Perish is a software program that retrieves and analyzes academic citations. It can be downloaded on Microsoft Windows, Apple Mac OS X and GNU/Linux. It uses Google Scholar to obtain the raw citations, then analyzes these and presents statistics such as Hirsch's h-index and Egghe's g-index for journals and researchers.
The visibility of a researcher decreases when the person’s name is written incorrectly or in multiple ways and when the person changes employment. This makes it difficult to trace the researcher’s publications in databases. It is therefore important that you get a researcher identifier covering all your publications. This makes it easier to find your publications and to follow how often your articles have been cited. In addition, it ensures your visibility in databases and facilitates your networking in the scientific community.
ORCID identifier is widely recommended. Some publishers require the ORCID id when submitting a manuscript to a journal. You will need ORCID id for showing your personal information in the Finnish information system (https://research.fi/en/) for searching information on Finnish scientists, their publications, research projects and research infrastructure.
Scopus creaates automatically a Scopus author ID for every author of all articles indexed in Scopus. You can easily follow the citation numbers of your articles and see your h-index by using your Scopus author ID.
The ResearcherID identifier makes it easy to follow the impact of your own publications according to the Web of Science database.
You can create a personal profile in Google Scholar as well. It enhances your visibility in Google Scholar and you can easily see your Google Scholar based h-index by using your profile.
ISNI is an identifier of persons and public organizations based on an international standard.
The social web provides fast tools to increase the visibility of your publications. It also enables you to network with the researcher community, financers, and other professionals. Various disciplines and fields of research have groups through which you can share your publications and other data and discuss issues with other researchers. You can use them to build new groups of collaboration and to find new possibilities for employment. Blogs are used for discussions, for testing your own ideas, and sometimes as part of the research process.
You can use altmetrics to follow the number of times an outcome of your research (article, book, etc.) has been cited, tweeted, liked, shared, or bookmarked. You can also find out how many times it has been viewed, downloaded, referred to, recommended, evaluated, or discussed.
Altmetrics has evolved because the traditional means to measure the impact of research have been criticized by researchers of various disciplines. In particular, citation analyses have been criticized. International citation databases cover medicine and natural sciences more extensively than other disciplines, basing their approach on the publication practices. The h-index has also received criticism.
So far, the University of Lapland has not utilized the monitoring services provided by altmetrics. The library orders monitoring services from other university libraries when needed.