Doctoral dissertations published in an electronic format are published in the Acta electronica Universitatis Lapponiensis series if the publisher is the University of Lapland (not an external publisher).
Print dissertations are published in the Acta Universitatis Lapponiensis series if the publisher is the University of Lapland (not an external publisher).
Doctoral dissertations completed in the Arctic Centre can be published in one of the publication series of the Arctic Centre: Arctic Centre Reports or Juridica Lapponica.
The ISSN code is series-specific and the same for all publications in the series:
The doctoral candidate should contact the library to request the number of the publication series as well as the publication-specific ISBN number for the doctoral dissertation. At the same time, the library provides the doctoral candidate with the permanent address of the publication.
If the dissertation is published by an external publisher, the publisher will provide the ISBN number and a possible series number for the publication.
For further information, please contact the library at research.library (at) ulapland.fi
Publishing the dissertation in book form requires a publishing agreement between the author and the publisher. Upon entering the publishing agreement, the author transfers to the publisher the right to publish the manuscript in book form (in electronic or print format) and to distribute, sell and market the publication. With the agreement, the author confirms that he or she has all rights necessary to the manuscript to be published, and to the images and other materials contained in it, so that he or she does not infringe or violate any copyright or other rights of any third party upon entering the publishing agreement. In addition, the agreement sets out the rights to distribute and republish the manuscript that the author retains after the publication of the manuscript and specifies the publisher’s rights and responsibilities.
The university as a publisher does not sell dissertations or distribute books published in print format. The author retains all copyrights to his or her published book. The university maintains availability of dissertations published in electronic format and promotes their visibility by linking the Lauda repository as extensively as possible to international scientific publication systems. An external publisher may sell and market the book, and the publishing agreement sets out the number of author’s copies the author will receive.
The Lapland University Consortium Library represents the University of Lapland as a publisher, and the publishing agreement for doctoral dissertations published in the university series is signed between the doctoral candidate and the Lapland University Consortium Library. The author prints out the publishing agreement form (see the link below), completes and signs it, and submits it as a scanned PDF copy to the library. The agreement is then signed by the library as a representative of the university, and the signed agreement is scanned, archived, and a copy of the file is sent to the doctoral candidate.
For further information, please contact the library: research.library (at) ulapland.fi
Descriptions of the most common CC licenses are provided below. For concrete examples of the use of the licenses, please visit the website of the Creative Commons community:
CC BY Attribution
This license lets others copy, distribute, present and modify the work freely, even for commercial purposes. The original author must be credited, and the author’s name, image or logo may not be modified or changed. CC BY is the most common open content license and it is a very effective way of reaching wide audiences. Materials published under this license may be used e.g. in teaching provided that the original author is credited.
CC BY-SA Attribution–Share alike
Like CC BY, but all new works based on the original work may be distributed only under the same license as the original work. Common in co-production projects such as Wikipedia and Tieteen termipankki (The Helsinki Term Bank for the Arts and Sciences). Recommended for learning materials.
CC BY-ND Attribution–NoDerivatives
Like CC BY, but the original work may not be shared with others in an adapted form. The work may be used only in its original form. This license is suitable for e.g. works of art.
CC BY-NC Attribution–NonCommercial
Like CC BY but the original work or the new works based on it may not be used for commercial purposes other than in ways specified in the copyright law. The law does not define exactly how commercial use should be understood, and thus, when using the work, this aspect must be assessed on a case-by-case basis (for example, a work under this license may not be shared on a blog, website, or publication archive that is commercial or financed by advertising). This license is recommended only in special cases, for example if the work is likely to be used in teaching of commercial training courses and the author wants to prevent this.
CC BY-NC-SA Attribution–NonCommercial–ShareAlike
Like CC BY-SA, but the original work may not be used for commercial purposes. New works based on the original work can be distributed only under the same license as the original work, but only for non-commercial purposes. This license is commonly used for teaching/learning materials (e.g. MIT).
CC BY-NC-ND Attribution–NonCommercial–NoDerivatives
Like CC BY-ND, but the original work may not be used for commercial purposes. The work may not be shared with others in an adapted form and it may not be used for commercial purposes. This license is common for audiobooks, podcasts and artworks when the author of the original work seeks to distribute the work widely but exactly in its original form.
CC 0 Zero
The author of the original work waives all rights to the original work and places it in the public domain (however, good scientific practice recommends that the original author of the work be credited). This license is used e.g. in the Flickr photo management and sharing application, and it is recommended for sharing metadata and research data. For example, the Finnish National Gallery has shared the metadata of its art collection under the CC 0 license.
For further information, please contact the library at research.library (at) ulapland.fi
The monograph dissertation includes the following components:
For doctoral dissertations published in the Acta series of the university, the standard cover and spine format of the series is used. If the doctoral candidate decides to use the standard design, no further actions regarding cover design are required. The layout artist completes the cover on the basis of the information on the title page of the dissertation. There is no space for a photo or an image in the standard cover. Should the candidate wish to include a photo or an image in the cover, the whole cover has to be designed separately.
For doctoral dissertations published in the publication series of the Arctic Centre – Arctic Centre Reports or Juridica Lapponica – a cover and spine format of the series is used. Please, ask for the instructions from the Communications Specialist of the Arctic Centre.
In electronic dissertations, only front cover is used. The printed copies will have normal front and back covers and the spine. Should the doctoral candidate wish to have extra copies of the electronic dissertation, the back cover introduction text might be useful. Otherwise, there is no need to the introduction text for the back cover.
Should the doctoral candidate wish to use her/his own cover design or order the design from an external designer, it is important to ensure that the design contains the same text elements as the sample cover design (see below). The placement and style of the book cover elements should aim for visual clarity. More detailed design instructions are provided in the separate instructions below.
It is possible to have the cover of the dissertation designed by a student of Graphic Design at the University of Lapland’s Faculty of Art and Design. The student designer will complete the work as a part of their studies. Should the doctoral candidate wish to have the cover of the dissertation designed by a student of the University of Lapland’s Faculty of Art and Design, planning should begin by contacting the Administrative Secretary of the Faculty of Art and Design Marjo Majava (marjo.majava (at) ulapland.fi). After this initial contact, the administrative secretary will contact the teacher of graphic design in order to find out if a student of graphic design is available to complete the work within the time frame allowed by the dissertation publication process. If a student designer is available, the administrative secretary will send the student’s contact information to the doctoral candidate. When contacting the student designer, the doctoral candidate should share with the designer the design instructions (see the links at the end of this section) and provide a description of the subject matter of the doctoral dissertation (e.g. the thesis abstract). The cover design schedule should be set so that the work is finalized during the manuscript layout and page design stage, because, at that point, the student designer will receive information on the exact width of the spine via the Graduate School. For a dissertation published in an electronic format, the student designer is required to create a front cover design for the electronic version of the work, and for the print copies of the dissertation for the public defence and for archival purposes, a front cover, a back cover and a spine. For a dissertation published only in print format, a front cover, a back cover and a spine are designed. The doctoral candidate must submit the finalized cover design files to the Graduate School at the latest upon completion of the manuscript layout and page design process.
If the doctoral candidate prints copies of the electronic dissertation (see instructions), the same cover design as in the copies for the public defence and for archival purposes is used.
Should the student designer be unable to complete the design work for reasons of force majeure, the standard cover and spine format of the university publication series is used. It is not possible to appoint a substitute designer.
The university or the faculty does not pay for dissertation cover design. The doctoral candidate is responsible for the design costs if an external designer is used.
The title page of a doctoral dissertation contains the following elements:
The copyright page contains the following elements:
When creating the title page and the copyright page, it is not necessary to place the text objects exactly in the same way as presented on the sample pages here. The doctoral candidate should send to the layout artist all the text objects listed above, one below another, in the order specified above.
For further information, please contact the library: research.library (at) ulapland.fi
The title page and the copyright page of the print copies of the dissertation differ somewhat from the title page and the copyright page of the actual dissertation. Those pages are created during the layout and page design process and the doctoral candidate does not need to include them in the manuscript of the dissertation.
A doctoral dissertation always includes an abstract in English and in Finnish. In addition, it is possible to include the abstract in multiple languages, for example in one or more Sámi languages.
Each abstract begins on a new page entitled Abstract / Tiivistelmä / the equivalent in some other language
Before the abstract itself, the bibliographic information of the dissertation is included:
Author
The title of the dissertation
Place of publication: Publisher, year of publication, number of pages.
The title and number of the publication series
ISBN
ISSN
The supervisor(s) will provide further information on matters related to the content of the abstract.
The components preceding the body of the monograph dissertation as specified in the section “Structure of the monograph dissertation” are placed at the beginning of the manuscript, each component on a separate page, in the order indicated in the section in question. The doctoral candidate does not have to format the text (font type or size, bold face, or line spacing) according to the sample pages presented in these guidelines. What is important is that all required information is included according to the guidelines and in the order indicated on the sample pages.
Formatting the body of the dissertation manuscript:
During the layout process, the appearance of the text (font, line length, number of lines per page etc.) changes. However, text formatted in italics and bold remains unchanged.
The Graduate School is responsible for organising the layout and page design process and communication with the layout artist during the process.
Before the layout and page design process can begin, the dissertation manuscript must be finalized, thoroughly checked and carefully proofread. It is not possible to make changes to the content during the layout process.
When submitting the manuscript to the Graduate School for the layout process, the complete materials should be submitted in the following form:
After the layout process, the doctoral candidate will be asked to review and approve the proof of their dissertation for publication. Requests for correction should be sent to the Graduate School.
In case of printed artistic dissertations the doctoral candidate should negotiate with the Graduate School about the possible special arrangements of the layout and printing process.
For doctoral dissertations published in the publication series of the Arctic Centre a page design of the series is used. Please, ask for instructions from the Communications Specialist of the Arctic Centre.
For further information on the layout process, please contact dissertations (at) ulapland.
The Graduate School delivers the finalized dissertation file with a completed layout, along with the front cover design file, to the library.
Before depositing the dissertation in the Lauda repository, the Library will make sure that the publication contract has been received and approved.
Once the dissertation has been deposited in the Lauda repository, the library will notify Communications and External Relations about this, after which Communications and External Relations will publish a link to the dissertation deposited in Lauda in the news section about upcoming dissertations on the website of the university.
For further information, please contact research.library (at) ulapland.fi
The university printing centre prints the necessary copies of electronic dissertations for the public defence and for archival purposes. No separate ISBN and serial numbers are needed for these copies.
The Graduate School delivers the finalized dissertation with a completed layout, along with the whole cover design file, to the university printing centre and checks the print quality.
The graduate school delivers the print copies of the dissertation to the faculty to be distributed as follows:
The administration of the university lays its copy to the university main hall 10 days prior to the public defence.
The print copies are not regarded as an independent publication, that would have separate ISBN number and serial numbers. Therefore the text on the title page informs that the printed copy is a printout and the ISBN number and the serial information are removed from the title page and the copyright page.
The library does not take printed copies of an electronic dissertation into the collections but the electronic dissertation is available via the library catalog as well as via many other systems.
On the faculty’s decision, a doctoral dissertation may be published in print format if there is a clearly stated reason why the work cannot be published in electronic format. The faculty makes the decision on publishing the dissertation in print format upon granting permission to defend the doctoral dissertation.
The doctoral candidate is responsible for arranging the printing of the dissertation if the dissertation is published in print format by the University of Lapland (in the Acta Universitatis Lapponiensis series).
The doctoral candidate will receive the finalized manuscript with a completed layout as well as the cover design file from the Graduate School. Or, if the doctoral candidate has used an external designer to create the cover design, the candidate will receive the cover design file directly from the designer.
In case of printed artistic dissertations the doctoral candidate should negotiate with the Graduate School about the possible special arrangements of the layout and printing process.
The doctoral candidate delivers 9 print copies (or, if there are two opponents, 10 copies) of the dissertation to the Faculty Office at the latest two weeks prior to the public defence of the dissertation and the faculty distributes them as follows:
The administration of the university lays its copy to the university main hall 10 days prior to the public defence.
In addition, the printing house is responsible for delivering six copies of the dissertation to the National Library of Finland (Act 28.12.2007/1433)
The university does not sell, market, distribute or store print dissertations. The doctoral candidate is responsible for the distribution of copies of the dissertation other than the above mentioned copies for the public defence, for archival purposes and the deposit copies. If the faculty or a unit of the university pays the printing costs in full or in part, the distribution procedure must be agreed on with the faculty or the unit in question.
Selecting a publisher
If a doctoral dissertation is potentially of wide public interest, it is worth exploring the possibilities of publishing it in book form by a Finnish science publisher. Vastapaino Oy of which the University of Lapland is a shareholder is one such publisher. When deciding on a publisher, attention should be paid to the publisher’s target audience and publishing profile: Which publisher is the best match with the discipline of the dissertation? Which is the best publisher to reach the people interested in the subject? Is the publishing house a reliable science publisher?
The publisher may also be a nationwide organization related to the discipline of the dissertation, or some other non-commercial actor capable of offering the dissertation wider circulation and greater visibility than the university as a publisher in targeting audiences interested in the subject of the dissertation.
Finnish non-fiction, science and art publishers
Schedule
If the dissertation is published by a publishing house, a non-commercial organization or some other actor external to the university, the publication schedule must be agreed separately and well in advance with the publisher to ensure that there is enough time for finalizing the manuscript, completing the layout and page design of the body of the manuscript, creating the cover design and printing the dissertation. The schedule of the publisher must be taken into account when planning the publication process and the date of the public defence of the dissertation. The necessary print copies of the dissertation (generally 8 copies, or, if there are two opponents, 9 copies) must be delivered to the Faculty Office at the latest two weeks prior to the public defence of the dissertation.
Publishing agreement
The doctoral candidate (the author) enters into a publishing agreement with the publisher. The rights and responsibilities of the publisher and the author are set out in the agreement. By entering into the agreement, the author confirms that he or she has all rights necessary to the manuscript presented for publication (including the images and other materials contained in it). The author should negotiate with the non-commercial publisher (and, if possible, also with the commercial publisher) in order to obtain the right to enter a PDF copy of the dissertation in the Lauda repository of the University of Lapland.
The publisher generally assumes financial responsibility for the publication process and marketing and distribution of the book. If the author has funding for the dissertation project, this might contribute to a positive publication decision.
The publisher is responsible for:
Information sheet on the public defence of a dissertation (loose leaf)
If the publisher of the dissertation is other than the University of Lapland, it is not usually mentioned on the title page of the book that the work is a doctoral dissertation. In this case, a loose leaf indicating that the work is an academic dissertation to be publicly defended with the permission of a faculty at the university of Lapland on a given date and time is inserted in the print publication before the title page.
Distribution
Nine (or, if there are two opponents, ten) copies of a doctoral dissertation published by an external publisher should be delivered to the faculty at the latest two weeks prior to the public defence of the dissertation. The responsibility for other distribution lies with the publisher.
|
Lapland University Consortium Library
|
Changing User Details |
